Book Review: Ring of Fire by Brad Taylor

Ring of Fire by Brad Taylor 
Okay, I am not the target audience for this book. This book (the eleventh featuring ex-special forces operator Pike Logan) centers around a terrorist cell looking to use the 15th anniversary of 9/11 to launch a massive strike against he United States. Pike Logan and his extra-governmental task force are the only ones who can stop him.

I made it about 100 pages in. While I’ve enjoyed thrillers in the style of the Dirk Pitt books by Clive Cussler  (am I dating myself?) or the Joe Ledger books by Jonathan Maberry, those series have a decent amount of escapism built in. I certainly don’t consider reading about the next 9/11 to be fun.

Add in a healthy dose of casual sexism, subpar banter, and slightly cardboardy characters, and I felt it better to leave it lie. Now, if you typically like military thrillers, this book might be more I  your wheelhouse. If you’ve liked the previous books in the series, you will probably like this one. Unfortunately,  Ring of Fire just wasn’t for me.

A free copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Ring of Fire will be available for purchase on January 17th, 2017.

One thought on “Book Review: Ring of Fire by Brad Taylor

Leave a Reply

